Come Whatever May

I’m sure you all know what it’s like to hit a wall, or a mind-block. Where you reach that point where you see the finish line, and the end’s in sight, but you’re doubting your ability to continue. That’s where most year 13 students would be right about now, nearing the end of their school lives, and readying themselves for that final push towards a new beginning. Wow…never knew it could sound that dramatic 😛  But on a serious note, it’s a pretty depressing feeling, knowing that you’ll be leaving behind people that you’ve spent almost you’re entire high school life with, and them, like you, will be starting afresh, and preparing for whatever may come their way. I suppose there’ll come a point where we all have to accept this, despite how upsetting it may be, and simply relish and enjoy the time that we have left together.

School was pretty lax today. Handed in my first Lit essay in a while. In a way, it was a wake up call, reminding me to get my arse in gear for the exams looming on the horizon. Aside from that most of the day was free, running round the school fetching certain papers and whatnot. Felt like a bit of a pillock when I took Hani’s trombone by accident, and it didn’t make thing’s better that his ensemble exam was today, but I managed to get it back on time, so all was resolved.

Rehearsal was another story completely. I don’t think that I’ve ever done something as high impact and energy consuming as the “Simba VS Scar” sequence, or what is more commonly known as “Kick-Butt” by the dance teachers, as it literally does kick your butt….repeatedly I might add. Cartwheels off another person,  the entire routine is exhausting, yet somehow keeps you on your toes. I guess it’s that performance adrenaline rush, really getting the blood pumping to prepare you for a simulated conflict. Needless to say, certain areas are in great pain.  Had an argument with Surya today. If you’re reading this, and you’re a performer, then you will know just how agitating it is, when you’re taking direction from four different directors, and the last thing that you need is a fellow actor to give their two cents. Maybe being angry for this is unnecessary, but at points, agitation can reach a level that goes beyond necessity and in fact makes you lose sight of what is truly important.

Maybe I’m in over my head here, and just need to calm down and think things through. But that will have to wait until tomorrow, as I currently think that I’m about to fall apart. So until next time

Tris Out

Leave a Reply

