From Chuck Berry to Buckcherry!

Howsit?

For those that remember the first post (’cause it was oh such a long time ago) I said that I’d be discussing my inner thoughts as well as day to day updates. I notice that I haven’t really been doing that lately. Really, it’s because nothing really thought provoking (or nothing worth bitching about) had presented itself, as if to say “Tristan, rant about me online.” Well…that was until yesterday ๐Ÿ™‚

It was a regular Thursday night, chilling with the BAIA guys at some shisha place in Salmiya, god knows where we were this time round. I ran into an old friend, a guy that I used to hang out with back in 2007. We started catching up, and he asked if I still listened to metal, to which the answer was obviously yes ๐Ÿ˜› When I asked him he said “I used to listen to metal, but then I grew up.” I didn’t make this apparent, but this didn’t sit too well with me, mainly because I saw it as a sign of inverted snobbery. He then went on to say “the lyrical themes are all the same, and you get sick of hearing the same thing over and over.”…..I’d never heard a bigger load of bullshit in my life.

I’ve never understood the whole fanboyism thing, people deciding that other bands have “sold out” when they aren’t the only person that listens to a certain band anymore. Firstly, “Selling out” simply means that a band/artist is selling more records, and in the end, that’s what they need to do to get by is it not? Some people just can’t take the fact that a certain band isn’t “their baby” anymore and claim that they’ve sold out. If that’s not petty, then I don’t know what is ๐Ÿ˜›

But I digress, back to my original point. People claiming that they’ve “grown up” and that’s why they don’t listen to metal anymore, ย is like saying “When I was a kid, I liked apples, but now that I’m all grown up, I like eating oranges,” (thank you Sarj) , meaning it’s two sides of the same coin really. Bottom line is, IT’S MUSIC, IT’S MUSIC, IT’S MUSIC! Enjoy it for what it is. Why people give the genres so much importance is beyond me, and more often than not causes me a great deal of agitation. I listen to any and everything from classical music up to the newest releases, from Chopin to Children of Bodom, and even Bizzy Bone and some J-Rock stuff.

“When I say that I’m into rock music, it means that I listen to everything from Chuck Berry to Buckcherry!” – Sajid “Sarj” Masood

I’ve recorded rap tracks with artists over here, as well as metal ones with my own band, and even do some musical theatre stuff. Though I guess some people just like harping on music because it makes them feel less insignificant.

There’s another point, why harp on musicians that you don’t like ? (Rebecca Black excluded, though she’s not a musician so I guess you can still bash her:P) If you don’t like it, don’t listen to it, and it’s that simple, but don’t go ruin it for people that actually enjoy the music. Don’t go judging a person based on what they listen, you might think it’s crap, but they probably think the same thing about alot of the bands that you listen to, eg: I love Children of Bodom, but others don’t, I’m not going to judge or give ย them shit ย based on that, that would just be petty and childish. Don’t go and bottle some artist that you hate at a festival, just because you don’t like what they’re playing. For all that you know, people could’ve bought day tickets just to see that artist. Again, using my own experiences as an example. Joe, Hagop and Kareem, you all remember DDR 09? We weren’t big fans of August Burns Red, so we just left the pit, got a drink, and met Hatred, as opposed to booing them off stage, and we had a better time because of it. MCR headlining Download Festival was another one. Now I”m no MCR fan, but I wouldn’t bottle them off the stage, not I think that they deserved to headline or anything, but letting another band’s music piss you off about it won’t solve anything. Instead be happy about the band’s you’ve gone to see, and enjoy their music like there’s no tommorow ๐Ÿ™‚

The point that I’m trying to make is, having a diverse musical taste isn’t a bad thing, on the contrary it’s actually quite the opposite. It displays you as a well rounded and accessible person, as opposed to a “STICK IT THE MAN” poserholic ๐Ÿ˜› If you like something, listen to it, it’s that simple. IE: Enjoy music no matter what genre or era it belongs to ๐Ÿ™‚

So there was your bitchy blog, daily updates resume tommorow ๐Ÿ™‚ so until next time BEACE!

Tris Out

Leave a Reply

