It’s Been A Long Time Coming

Hola

Had a bit of a late night last night, hence this is being posted now ๐Ÿ™‚ We didn’t catch the midnight showing of Thor as there was no midnight showing ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but I guess that’s a good thing, otherwise I’d have been ultimately knackered. ย Yesterday started out pretty well, then got kinda shitty (such a wordsmith aren’t I?) and sort of improved towards the end ๐Ÿ™‚ (If you followed all of that, then read on.)

School was actually pretty decent for a Wednesday, managed to cover a bit of ground in drama, and got the brunt of our directorial intent finished by the end of the day ๐Ÿ™‚ Spent most of Lit talking about Ice-Cream, and how it’s made in factories, needless to say Marina’s never eating ice-cream again ๐Ÿ˜› History was a little exerting, as I don’t think anyone wants to do a 40 mark source paper on Nazi Government and how chaotic it was for the last lesson on a Wednesday afternoon, but I managed to finish……somehow. I don’t really feel secure about the Nazi section of the course, I mean the content is easy enough, but the sources are just….inhuman.

Picked up my gown, and it’s started to hit me more now, that feeling of that long wait finally being over, of our time at school drawing to a close….and the gowns look well sexy too ๐Ÿ™‚ well besides the sleeves.

Rehearsal today started out pretty well, saw our costumes for the first time, and honest to God, I’ve never been more comfortable in my life. Those MC Hammer pants are more comfortable than trousers made out of clouds ๐Ÿ™‚ seriously they are heavenly, I want to be buried in them ๐Ÿ˜› Along with the fur cape thing, and my wig, I looked like Gadaffi with dreadlocks. Speaking of which, I actually managed to pull some Gadaffi-isms this rehearsal:

1.) Kept pulling my fur cloak……this was a pain in ze backside, no wonder Gadaffi gets so angry

2.) During Mufasa’s death, instead of giving the funeral speech, I said “Shibber Shibber, Beit Beit, Dar Dar, Zenga Zenga, Ferd Ferd” ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย and other hilarious quotes from Gadaffi’s speeches, ie : “This not my people, this al-qaeda” and “all my people they love me.” ๐Ÿ˜›

This actually made me realise that Scar could be made analogous to any dictator including Hitler, Stalin and Gadaffi, pretty brutal combination don’t you think?

We managed to get through Act 1 smoothly, with only the young Simba and Nala slowing things down (this is mainly due to the fact that out of someone’s foresight, they didn’t receive scripts). Act 2 was where things started to really slow down. The brass tacks of it being that Khalid and Breanna didn’t know their lines, or the words to “Can You Feel The Love Tonight?” needless to say this was annoying, as people like Augie, Yousem and I were sat around doing nothing for 2 hours :/ Though this was nowhere near the worst part. At the end of rehearsal, our dance director started giving us an earful (for lack of a better word.) Telling us how if alot of us are going to be late, we may as well not have rehearsal and all that. Telling us that “this is their holiday” and that they’re “Here all the time.” It didn’t help that Khalid reiterated those words saying that it too was his holiday. ย At this point, I’d had enough, and just told Khalid that because he had the week off, he could afford to be in the theatre all day, whereas some of us don’t actually go home ๐Ÿ™‚ So when people complain about having to give up a day where they do bugger all anyway, when there’s people in the cast who still need to work, it’s just a little antagonising. After rehearsal, he attempted to threaten me, “If you talk to me like that again” and all that malarky….he failed miserably. Little tip: if someone bitchy is giving you trouble, then just show them the bird ๐Ÿ™‚ ends alot of disputes.

That may seem like an overreaction, but I couldn’t help being upset. When there’s people like Jake and I who work our backsides off at school, and then rehearse, you just feel like saying to the divas “Look, I’m not here complaining that I don’t want to be doing this shit.” Whether this will cause tension tonight I don’t know, and I really don’t care if I’m honest. I’m in this show ’cause I want to be, if they want to replace me, they can try ๐Ÿ™‚ ย I know that sounds arrogant but it’s the truth. The one person that can replace me is Surya, and no one can replace him for Pumbaa, so there you go ๐Ÿ™‚

Anywhooo, that’s enough bitching out of me ๐Ÿ™‚ I must get to school now ๐Ÿ˜› We’re catching the showing of Thor tonight, so I’ll probably write about that soon, and I’m also going to post some lyrics up in the next blog. When will that be? Stay tuned and find out ๐Ÿ™‚ All the best

Tris Out

Leave a Reply

