Square One

8 months…..wow…..I’ve really been neglectful. I suppose it’s because of the newly inherited university workload, and the amount that I now put into that. Aside from  that, I’m rarely home for a long enough amount of time to write things down. I’ve also started writing for a Middle Eastern Metal website called Metality, reviewing albums and gigs (so all of my album reviews are there from now on, sorry for posting those here, they needed to go somewhere!) .Basically  I haven’t had the chance to write, nor have I come across anything particularly puzzling or thought inspiring for a while. That is of course until my numerous readings of Game of Thrones as well as a multitude of anime concepts that have been presented at Anisoc showings (just when you thought that I couldn’t get any nerdier). Although the inspiration behind this may be of a slightly strange nature, I assure you that the content is not, well…at least I  think so, which I suppose is why I’m writing this all down.  Most of my following posts shall be based around any of these that I come across. But enough of that, let’s get to the satisfactory stuff!

” ‘All dwarves may be bastards, but not all bastards need be dwarves’, and with that, he turned and sauntered back into the feast, whistling a tune. When he opened the door, the light from within threw his shadow clear across the yard, and for just a moment, Tyrion Lannister stood tall as a king” – Tyrion Lannister/George R.R Martin, Game of Thrones.

It took me a while to realise it, but Tyrion Lannister may well be the most intelligent character that I’ve come across within a novel for a while now, not just because he’s seemingly intelligent or witty, but because there is a great amount of indirect depth to what he says, and this particular quote is what sparked my thoughts for this post. I’ve recently returned back to Kuwait, and while I’m glad to be home, I’ve realised that many others do not view the country the way I do. That’s not to say that people  hate living there, but I’m just implying that there’s a select few who view it as a prison, or a magnet that they keep getting pulled back towards. Some people I know have left and never returned, glad to be gone and have left to what they classify as “more liberal” parts of the world, while others have left only to return and are forced to start from square one, in some cases more than once. Now I sympathise with those who make the effort to leave, and even more with those that keep trying, but some I know simply complain about how mruch they’ve tried and failed. And I have pondered greatly, and thought diligently upon a solution to this, until I stumbled across Tyrion’s quote. Call me crazy, but I find the deeper meaning of this directly related to those who’ve had their hopes shattered by returning.

Tyrion essentially says that you may be a bastard child, but that doesn’t mean that you can’t be dominant. Somehow, someway, I managed to draw from this, that starting from square one may be difficult, and it may be tough, but at the end of the day, square one is still a square. If anything, that means that a chance remains for you to achieve your goals, you just need to dig deeper than you have been, charge in head on and actually mean it this time! It’s a bit like Monopoly in a sense, even if you end up back at the Go sign, collect your 200 pounds and start again.

“Take away every single pain, that infects each and every day, I’ll bury you once and for all, you’re a monster, you’re built to fall” – Matthew K. Heafy, Trivium

Now all those that know me, know that music is an integral part of my life, I don’t think I could live without it. Not just the music of course, but the lyrics and deeper meanings that lay buried under the surface, that many just choose to scratch. If you constantly find yourself back at the beginning, it may be because of some inner conflict that could do with a conquering to!  Maybe you’ve got some form of inhibition, or longing, or regret and its holding you back, or causing to take different turns that usual. The short answer, is to fight back and regain control or resume your journey up you’re life’s mountain ! .As Mr. Heafy states, knock that inner demon one in the face, and while he’s distracted jump over him and keep climbing, and maybe, just maybe, your shoulders will feel a little bit lighter.

Matt VS Inner Demon
“I will bury you once and for all”

“There’s a hard life for every silver spoon, there’s a touch of tray for every shade of blue, that’s the way that I see life, if there was nothing wrong then there’d be nothing right” – Brent Smith, Shinedown

Mr. Smith’s lyrics have served me well in the past, and upon further listening they also provide great relevance to this topic. Part of the reason behind a return to square one, could in fact be based on the decisions that you’ve made. Now I’m not saying that they were all wrong, nor am I justifying them, I’m simply saying that there’s needs to be balance between the two, and I strongly think that’s what Brent Smith is trying to convey here. Decisions that you make should really not go strongly one way, or the other. If you do, it just leaves you moving within a vicious circle, and guess where it gets you back to?

“There is good, there is evil, this is black, there is white, and nothing in between” – Steve Ditko, co-creator of Spider-Man

I’m going to conclude this post with a statement from famed comic book writer Steve Ditko. Although it comes from the eyes of a comic book writer, this statement dives so much deeper than that. It’s not giving you absolutes, although he seems to be, no, Ditko is once again saying that balance is crucial and without it there is no life essentially. Although he appears to say that balance cannot exist and that there can be no mid-point between the two. I believe that what he’s essentially stating is that there may not be an equal balance, s that one may still be possible, just with varying levels of the two to that serve each other from time to time.

Don’t be disheartened and don’t be afraid to start from square one, strive for balance and I assure you, things will change for the better. Like I said, square one doesn’t leave you with nothing,  you’ve still got the square haven’t you? and in theory that’s all you need? because really, squares two, three, four and all the numbers after that, are the same as square one, they’re just squares ,it’s up to you to move through ’em. I shall leave you with some lyrics by the awesome Adam Gontier (of none other than Three Days Grace).

Until next time

Tris out.

“Tonight, I start the fire, tonight I break away – If you can’t stand the way this place is, take yourself to higher places” – Adam Gontier

Leave a Reply

