Before the Fight Ends You

I see just one more chance for redemption, A selfless child’s dream of ascension. End the fight, before the fight ends you. This could be the day. Things only fall in the hands we raise – Jamey Jasta, Hatebreed

I’m not going to bother with an intro and just jump right into this one. I don’t consider myself some “Voice of the Voiceless” (thank you CM Punk), but I do have a strong idea of right and wrong. This does not however mean that I am a vengeful and spiteful person, in fact, I’m a firm believer in forgiveness and second chances (not so much thirds but we’ll get to that).

I came across a story that classically embodies the principle of an “eye for an eye.” Now the origins of this principle are highly debateable, Hammurabi’s code etc etc, but I think we can all agree that it was a principle and in some cases a law enforced in more barbaric a time.

This is what concerned me, as I came across an example in this day and age, and to be honest, it terrifies me that this sort of thing can still pass without being considered as pure barbarism. A man responsible for paralyzing an individual may in fact be punished by having paralysis forced on him. This, seems like where that metaphorical line in the sand should be drawn. Of course I’m taking the most extreme example and utilising it to make a point, and at its essence, modern law is themed around an eye for an eye. But in this most extreme case, what would inflicting the same pain on the same person resolve besides your own desire for revenge?

In this case, you’d just end up with another paralysed person, who’s now just as bitter as you were. Demand bloody money and it’ll just end up all over your hands. I’m not saying that all criminals or people in these situations should be given second chances, in some cases the crimes are too severe for that. I suppose I’d just hoped that humanity had progressed a little further than this, and had maybe found other ways to show this person how their actions have affected others.

 Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate; hate leads to suffering – Master Yoda, Star Wars

At the end of the day, its all just one vicious circle. Hate doesn’t pass, it breeds, and that leads to essentially what Master Yoda’s talking about. I guess my question is…well, where do you draw the line? Where can we place the limit?

In my view forgiveness can be a big part of this. The build up of the need for hate will only go as far as you let it develop. Forgiveness is the ultimate weight lifter as far as I’m concerned, and that crucial first step towards moving past whatever’s been consuming a person to lead to such a need for blood money, really, the only way to leave your mind at peace.

Once again, I’m not saying forgive every person that does you wrong, that does about as much good as the eye for an eye principle and we’re back where we started. If someone shows no remorse and is clearly not bothered in the slightest by  what they’ve done, then the second chance should not be given. However, in some cases, forgiveness can be a way forward and really its a personal choice as to wether you raise a hand to it or not.

As a great man once said:

wpid-martin_luther_king_jr_quote.jpg

‘Til Next Time

Tris Out

Leave a Reply

