Podcasts – My Four Favourites

Podcasts. They’re the greatest procrastination device ever created. Seriously, I’ve started to think that Podcasts have a magic time quickening power. It’s  as George St. Pierre said on an episode of the Joe Rogan Experience:

“I can’t say something happen to me. I have no proof. I just don’t know. But I’m going to tell you something and I’m going to be honest about it. Sometimes, I’m looking at the clock. And It’s like I wake up and I look at the clock right after, and it’s like the clock advance like four hours, or two hours. There’s a time zone that I don’t remember what happened…. Or I can drive my car and it already happen. I drove my car in a normal day, going somewhere, and I look, and it’s two hour pass. Two hour had just pass like this (snaps fingers) … This is like a third-type encounter.” – Georges St-Pierre, Joe Rogan Experience #351

Seems to me like Georges never learnt to tell the time…but I digress. Podcasts are a nifty little invention. They are, at their essence, portable discussions that can actually lead to some pretty deep conversations. We’re talking Mariana Trench deep.

But enough prattling, here’s a short list of my favourite podcasts:

 

Distraction Pieces Podcast with Scroobius Pip

DPP
This podcast is a regular for me, being hosted by one of my favourite hip-hop artists, Scroobius Pip, and normally playing in the background while I’m at work. When the inaugural guest on your podcast is Russell Brand, you know that shit’s going down! Pip has had a veritable and eclectic board of guests that have always served as great regular listening. Pip has also utilised the Distraction Pieces podcast to advertise his sponsors intelligently, and even gave the sponsorship slot (thanks to Squarespace) to another pretty cool website. Some of my favourite guests have included Frank Turner,  Akala, Stephen Grahame , Blindboy of the Rubberbandits, and most recently Ed Skrein of Deadpool fame (his name’s Francis *wink wink*)!

Pip has also just launched the Distraction Pieces network, which includes new monthly podcast Tuesday Night Jaw, hosted by Progress Wrestling showrunner Jim Smallman. The Distraction Pieces Podcast is well worth checking out if you’re into acting, film, music, art, politics, pro wrestling, or just want to here some pretty deep conversations going on. Pip gets through a lot with his guests in roughly an hour and a half, and I find that these are some of the best to kick back and relax to, and I’m a guy who’s forgotten what relaxation feels like!

 

The Jasta Show

Jasta Show

Hosted by hardcore legend and Hatebreed frontman, Jamey Jasta, this podcasts make for some great listening. If you’re a rock/metal/MMA fan, then this is the podcast for you. They aren’t too lengthy and lead to some pretty in-depth interviews. Jamey’s had legendary rockers like Lemmy interviewed on the podcast,  current metallers such as Matt Heafy (Trivium), Howard Jones (Devil You Know, ex-Killswitch Engage), Dez Farfara (DevilDriver, Coal Chamber) and Robb Flynn (Machine Head), as well as Mixed Martial Artists such as current Bellator star Michael Chandler and former UFC fighter Kimbo Slice. As a frontman himself, it’s great to hear Jamey go heat to head with people that he has shared multiple tours with, especially in talks with bands like Lamb of God and DevilDriver. Jamey’s podcast is also a great place to pick up some new music, as he normally plays some before the interviews start. I’m not normally a fan of podcast advertising, but Jamey Jasta’s use of promotion is actually very intriguing. It’s where I first heard some of the new Anthrax record and where I discovered the awesome Japanese hardcore band, Crystal Lake. Definitely a rockers/metallers podcast and a must if you’re a Hatebreed/Jasta fan!

Talk Is Jericho

Talk is Jericho

Newsflash, I’m a 23 year old man that watches pro-wrestling. Right. Now that that’s out of the way, it should come as no surprise that I’d be listening to a podcast hosted by the Ayatollah of Rock and Rollah, Y2J himself, Chris Jericho. His guests range from current pro wrestling superstars (AJ Styles, Xavier Woods,, to legends of the industry to awesome members of current rock and metal bands. As a musician as well (Jericho is the frontman of rock band, Fozzy) Jericho gets to discuss the awesome highs of a touring musician as well as the personal low points of musicians that are taking their second stab at the industry, ranging from old school veterans like Iron Maiden‘s Bruce Dickinson to Devil You Know‘s and ex-Killswitch Engage frontman Howard Jones. Y2J also brings an air of his showmanship to the podcast, using his rock’n’roll radio announcer tone to make podcast adverts just that little bit more bearable.

 

The Joe Rogan Experience

 

JRE

Figured I’d end out with the first podcast that I started listening to properly. They used to be “tired drive home” listening, as my friend Yousef can attest to. These aren’t for the feint of heart, normally running at an average rate of 2.5-3 hours. But some of the discussions go off on such unbelievable tangents (see the afformentioned Georges St-Pierre episode if you don’t believe me) that the timestamp doesn’t matter. Hosted by UFC colour commentator, MMA aficionado and stand up comedian Joe Rogan, his guests range from academics, to MMA fighters and coaches, to Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Practitioners, to Grahame Hancock. Definitely recommended if you’re into MMA, or if you just fancy having a laugh with a stoned stand-up comedian and his mates.

 

Parting Thoughts

Obviously, I’ve only just scratched the surface here, and distractos like me are finding new podcasts every day. I’ve started listening to the Empire podcast after their intriguing Q&A with Zack Snyder about Batman vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice, and have even started listening to Stone Cold Steve Austin’s podcast (because who doesn’t like the ol’ rattlesnake). I recommend that you check some of these out. They’re a great way of taking your mind off of things but are great at making you think. Alternatively, if you come across any that you think are interesting, list ’em off/link them in the comments!

Happy listening

Leave a Reply

